Faye, Faraway (Hardcover)

Faye, Faraway Cover Image
$27.00
Available from Our Distributor (Not in Store)

Description


A heartfelt, spellbinding, and irresistible debut novel for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Outlander that movingly examines loss, faith, and love as it follows a grown woman who travels back in time to be reunited with the mother she lost when she was a child.

Faye is a thirty-seven-year-old happily married mother of two young daughters. Every night, before she puts them to bed, she whispers to them: “You are good, you are kind, you are clever, you are funny.” She’s determined that they never doubt for a minute that their mother loves them unconditionally. After all, her own mother Jeanie had died when she was only seven years old and Faye has never gotten over that intense pain of losing her.

But one day, her life is turned upside down when she finds herself in 1977, the year before her mother died. Suddenly, she has the chance to reconnect with her long-lost mother, and even meets her own younger self, a little girl she can barely remember. Jeanie doesn’t recognize Faye as her daughter, of course, even though there is something eerily familiar about her...

As the two women become close friends, they share many secrets—but Faye is terrified of revealing the truth about her identity. Will it prevent her from returning to her own time and her beloved husband and daughters? What if she’s doomed to remain in the past forever? Faye knows that eventually she will have to choose between those she loves in the past and those she loves in the here and now, and that knowledge presents her with an impossible choice.

Emotionally gripping and ineffably sweet Faye, Faraway is a brilliant exploration of the grief associated with unimaginable loss and the magic of being healed by love.

About the Author


Helen Fisher spent her early life in America but grew up mainly in Suffolk, England, where she now lives with her two children. She studied psychology at Westminster University and ergonomics at University College London, and worked as a senior evaluator in research at the Royal National Institute of Blind People. Faye, Faraway is her first novel. 

Praise For…


"A warm, witty, wholehearted glimpse inside a parallel universe. Genuine and touching, Fisher's narrative voice will appeal to fans of Kelly Harms, Lia Louis, and Julie Valerie. Exploring the power of believing in the impossible, Faye, Faraway is a delight."Booklist

"[An] enchanting debut… Fisher’s achingly authentic characters leap off the page and capture readers’ hearts. This addictive, emotionally heavy page-turner marks a delightful spin on the time travel genre.”Publishers Weekly

"A lovely, deeply moving story of loss and love and memory made real.  The sort of book that makes you feel the tenderness of joy restored, and the tearing pain of a choice between the two halves of your heart."—Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander 

"A magical combination of tenderness and grief starring an unforgettable protagonist...Fisher writes gorgeous, lyrical prose, and every scene is infused with magic and heart...Full of emotionally drawn scenes and careful ponderings about faith, spirituality and love, Faye, Faraway is riveting, surprising and deeply touching."Bookreporter

"Emotionally fraught, Faye, Faraway is an unputdownable debut from a writer to watch.”Bustle

"Charming and powerful, Faye, Faraway captures the longing we all share to see once again those we have lost and to transcend time and space to answer the questions we wish we’d asked. The dual speed of time, the need to choose between past and present, and the importance of lightening the burden for those we encounter are explored with good humor, an acute sense of nostalgia, and compassion. An uplifting and healing read."—Marjan Kamali, author of The Stationery Shop

"Faye, Faraway is a magical story of love, loss, and the ways that grief changes us forever. I stayed up all night turning pages until I reached its riveting surprise ending. This is a brave and powerful novel that asks big questions about time, memory, and whether those we love ever truly leave us. It will touch your heart in these difficult times."—Margo Rabb, author of Kissing in America and Lucy Clark Will Not Apologize

“I really enjoyed Faye, Faraway. It’s such an unusual, intriguing novel. The tenderness between Faye and her mother is very touching and I loved Faye and Eddie’s marriage… It’s a beautiful book and the first in ages that actually *interested* me."—Marian Keyes, author of Watermelon and Sushi For Beginners

"Readers interested in pondering the basis of faith will find much to contemplate in this story."Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982142674
ISBN-10: 1982142677
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: January 26th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English